ScholarRx Academic Advisory Board

Warren Wiechmann, MD Chairperson

Dr. Wiechmann is Associate Dean of Instructional Technologies at the University of California, Irvine School of Medicine. He is project leader for the school’s iMedEd Initiative, which uses the iPad as its centerpiece for curricular innovation. Dr. Weichmann applies his experience with graphic design, web app development, and programming to improve medical student and resident education, clinical workflows, and physician and patient education. He is also a practicing emergency department physician, and helped create the department’s comprehensive patient tracking and management system.

Alissa Craft, DO, MBA

Dr. Craft is the Vice President of Accreditation at the American Osteopathic Association. In this role, she serves as Secretary for the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA), the only accrediting agency for the 40+ training locations for doctors of osteopathic medicine in the United States. Prior to joining the AOA, Dr. Craft served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine. She is currently Director of Curricular Outcome and Improvements at Western University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific.

Stuart Flynn, MD

After 20 years as a professor and director of the residency program at Yale University School of Medicine, Dr. Flynn moved to Phoenix to become the founding dean of the University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix. In 2016, Dr. Flynn joined Texas Christian University and The University of North Texas Health Sciences Center as founding Dean of the new medical school in Fort Worth. He has received numerous honors, including The Bohmfalk Teacher of the Year Award from Yale and The Averill A. Liebow Award for Excellence from Yale’s pathology residents.

John (Jack) R. Kues, PhD

Dr. Kues is Associate Dean for Continuous Professional Development and Professor Emeritus of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. He has been involved in UME for more than 35 years and in CME/CPD for more than 20 years. He also served as Chair of the CME section of the Group on Education Affairs of the AAMC. Dr. Kues is actively involved in the development of an interprofessional education curriculum at the University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center

Bryan Martin, DO

Dr. Martin is Emeritus Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics at Ohio State University, where he served as Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Associate Medical Director of University Hospital. Previously, he was Director of the Allergy and Immunology Fellowship at Ohio State. He has served as the Chair of the ACGME Allergy and Immunology Residency Review Committee, and is currently President of the ACAAI. Dr. Martin retired from the US Army in 2008 after a 28-year career that included serving as Chair of the Department of Allergy and Immunology at Walter Reed Army Medical Center.

Charles Prober, MD

Dr. Prober is Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education at Stanford University School of Medicine, where he oversees undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate medical education. He is also Professor of Pediatrics, Microbiology and Immunology at Stanford. Dr. Prober has lectured extensively both nationally and internationally on infectious diseases and on medical education. He is also Co-Director of the Stanford Center for Clinical and Translational Education and Research, whose goal is to accelerate the translation of basic scientific discoveries into practical health care solutions.

Gerard Rabalais, MD, MHA

Dr. Rabalais is Associate Dean of Faculty Development for the University of Louisville School of Medicine and CEO of UofL Physicians. He previously served as Vice Chair of Pediatric Services for UofL Physicians. Dr. Rabalais was also Chair of the UofL Department of Pediatrics, the largest department in the UofL School of Medicine with 200 faculty, 100 residents and fellows, and more than 400 staff. He has played a key role in the development of UofL Physicians, serving on the executive committee of its Board since its inception.

Cynthia S. Rand, PhD

Dr. Rand is Professor of Medicine and Associate Dean for Faculty at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. An internationally recognized expert in the area of adherence with chronic therapies, she is also Director of the Johns Hopkins Adherence Research Center. She has served as a national leader in pediatric and adult behavioral research for more than 20 years, and is the past chair of the Behavioral Sciences Assembly of the American Thoracic Society. Dr. Rand has served on multiple national advisory boards for the NIH, and has earned the Department of Medicine David L. Levine Excellence in Mentoring Award and the JHSM Award for Outstanding Achievement in Medical Education.

Howard M. Steinman, PhD

Dr. Steinman is Professor of Biochemistry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Assistant Dean for Biomedical Science Education. For nearly 20 years, Dr. Steinman has been Course Director for the molecular and cellular foundations of medicine course for first-year medical students. He also teaches in the second-year microbiology and infectious disease course and graduate courses in molecular genetics and human metabolism. Dr. Steinman is the recipient of several Einstein teaching awards including the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Amol Utrankar

Mr. Utrankar is a fourth-year medical student at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. He is a member of the Student Technology Committee, whose goal is to implement and improve technologies to support undergraduate medical education. He founded the Medical Innovation Lab, a student-led interdisciplinary collaboration to identify and solve “pain points” in health care delivery. Mr. Utrankar was also the recipient of an AAMC grant to improve health outcomes and reduce the financial impact of high-utilizer patients.